

2016 ASCE Structural and SEI Awards

he Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) is proud to congratulate the winners of the 2016 ASCE Structural and SEI Awards:

STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING **INSTITUTE AWARDS**

2016 Chapter of the Year Award

The 2016 SEI Chapter of the Year Award was given to the SEI Maryland Chapter. The SEI Maryland Chapter has strived to create programs with diverse content including bridge, building, waterfront, and geo-structural topics. The Chapter has partnered with local universities to create student-centered content during on-campus meetings that are free of charge for students and has conducted extensive K-12 outreach.

2016 Graduate Student Chapter of the Year

SEI presented the 2016 Graduate Student Chapter award to the West Virginia University Graduate Student Chapter. The chapter has been active in providing educational opportunities, speaking opportunities to present research in conjunction with professional events and SEI Structures Congress, and outreach to undergraduate and K-12 students. In addition to these efforts, their members have been active on the SEI Graduate Student Chapter Leadership Council and have assisted in forming the policies and procedures that govern the SEI Graduate Student Chapters.

W. Gene Corley Award

The 2016 W. Gene Corley Award was given to Susan A. Jorgensen, P.E., LEED, AP BD+C, M.SEI, M.ASCE. Ms. Jorgensen is commended for her outstanding service to the engineering profession by distinguishing Structural Engineering as a profession through her persistent efforts to obtain Structural Engineering licensure nationwide and through her leadership of the Structural Engineering Licensure Coalition.

Gene Wilhoite Innovations in Transmission Line Engineering Award

The 2016 Gene Wilhoite Award was presented to Dana Crissey, P.E., M.ASCE. Mr. Crissey's support, strong leadership and participation in ASCE/SEI spans over thirty years. His leadership, willingness to share his knowledge and experience and continuous education of his staff and peers in the electric utility industry were strong factors in his selection.

Dennis L. Tewksbury Award

The 2016 Tewksbury Award was presented to Marc I. Hoit, Ph.D., F.SEI, F.ASCE. Dr. Hoit has been committed to improving the quality and effectiveness of ASCE and SEI's technical programs and has helped the annual Structures Congress grow in attendance and international significance.

Walter P. Moore, Jr. Award

The 2016 Walter P. Moore, Jr. Award was given to John D. Hooper, P.E., S.E., F.SEI, **F.ASCE**. Mr. Hooper has served as the Chair of the ASCE 7 Seismic Subcommittee for both the 2010 and 2016 cycles and has significantly improved the reliability and safety of structures subjected to seismic loads.

SEI President's Award

The 2016 SEI President's Award was given to Donald Dusenberry, P.E., SECB, F.SEI, F.ASCE. Mr. Dusenberry has made significant contributions to SEI through leadership roles in technical, publications and standards efforts, and through his leadership on the SEI Board, particularly in developing the Vision for the Future Structural Engineer.

AMERICAN SOCIETY OF CIVIL **ENGINEERING STRUCTURAL AWARDS**

Shortridge Hardesty Award

The 2016 Shortridge Hardesty Award was given to Kim J.R. Rasmussen, Ph.D., M.ASCE. Professor Rasmussen is honored for his contributions to the development of practical design provisions and advanced analysis guidelines in the field of structural stability. Throughout his career, he has demonstrated exceptional talent both as a researcher and as a leader and administrator.

Ernest E. Howard Award

The 2016 Ernest E. Howard Award was given to Ron Klemencic, P.E., S.E., M.ASCE. Mr. Klemencic is honored for his leadership in the application of performance-based seismic design methods for tall building structures and the promulgation of this approach throughout the structural engineering profession.

Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Prize

Up to five Huber Prizes are awarded each year for achievements in civil engineering research. Amit Kanvinde, Ph.D., M.ASCE, is one of the 2016 winners of the Huber Prize. Dr. Kanvinde is honored for significant contributions in modeling integrated with large-scale



Left to right: Shuxian Wassenius, Susan Jorgenson, David Odeh, Sheila Rimal Duwadi, John Hooper, Dana Crissey, Marc Hoit, Laura Champion.

experiments to advance the analysis and design of steel connections and members.

Moisseiff Award

The 2016 Moisseiff Award was presented to Matthew R. Eatherton, Ph.D., P.E., S.E., M.ASCE; Xiang Ma, A.M.ASCE; Helmut Krawinkler, Ph.D.; Gregory G. Deierlein, P.E., F.ASCE; and Jerome F. Hajjar, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, F.ASCE for the paper titled Quasi-Static Cyclic Behavior of Controlled Rocking Steel Frames, published in the November 2014 issue of the Journal of Structural Engineering. The team contributed to a multi-institution, international research project to develop the controlled rocking system.

Raymond C. Reese Research Prize

The 2016 Raymond C. Reese Prize was presented to Ronny Purba, Ph.D., and Michel Bruneau, Ph.D., P.Eng., F.ASCE for their paper titled Seismic Performance of Steel Plate Shear Walls Considering Two Different Design Philosophies of Infill Plates II: Assessment of Collapse Potential, published in the June 2015 issue of the Journal of Structural Engineering. The paper recommended design changes that have been implemented into the document that directly governs the design practice.

George Winter Award

The 2016 George Winter Award was given to Andrea Surovek, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, M.ASCE. Dr. Surovek has made significant technical contributions in structural engineering and accomplishments in the arts and theater. Also, she has been an active ASCE and SEI volunteer and has chaired several major committees.

To submit a nomination for the 2017 awards visit the SEI website at www.asce.org/structural-engineering/ structural-engineering-awards.