SPOTLIGHT

## award winners and outstanding projects

## Dr. Neil Hawkins

Recipient of SEI's Dennis L. Tewksbury Award

Dr. Hawkins is a Professor Emeritus, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Adjunct Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Washington. He received his B.E. degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Sydney, Australia in 1957 and both his M.S. and Ph.D. in structural engineering from the University of Illinois in 1959 and 1961, respectively.

Dr. Hawkins is an academician with a practical bent. He is a leader in civil engineering education, and a life-time contributor to structural engineering academic research and the codification of research results. He has served full-time on the civil engineering faculty of three universities: Sydney, Washington, and Illinois. At both Washington and Illinois, he played a major role in obtaining financial resources for major remodeling of the environmental engineering laboratories of those universities, and for the development of improved research collaborations between those universities and the transportation departments of their states. Within ASCE, he has been active on the Department Head's Council and been a member and Chair of the Academic Research Council of ASCE's Civil Engineering Research Foundation (CERF).

Hawkins' practical bent has been reflected in the administrative leadership roles he has played in many structural engineering related professional societies. He is a life member of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), served on the Board's Research Policy Committee, was influential in the

establishment of ASCE's technical institutes, and currently serves on the Board Committee on Codes and Standards. Within the Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) of ASCE, he has served on the Board of Governors. He is a Fellow of the American Concrete Institute (ACI), is a member of the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) and is a Fellow of the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute. He has been a member for over 20 years of the Building Seismic Safety Council (BSSC) that drafts the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) recommended earthquake



The Dennis L. Tewksbury Award recognizes an individual for outstanding service to the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE. Dr. Neil Hawkins was presented this prestigious award at the May Structures Congress in Long Beach. He has worked tirelessly and selflessly to advance the cause of structural engineering in general and that of SEI in particular. He has clearly exhibited the leadership and dedication to the profession and the Institute that the Tewksbury Award is intended to recognize.

design regulations, and a longterm member of the Post-

Tensioning Institute (PTI). He served on NSF's Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazard Mitigation and also served on the National Bureau of Standards Board of Assessment.

Dr. Hawkins' research has been primarily related to the performance of concrete structures and composite steel. For concrete structures he has made significant contributions in the areas of shear, prestressed and precast concrete, fatigue, fracture, and seismic performance. His work in shear began with his Ph.D. thesis on the shear strength of two span continuous prestressed concrete beams, and has continued up to this date with the July 2007 publication of National Cooperative Highway Research Report 579 on the shear strength of high strength concrete bridge girders. The shear provisions of both the ACI Building Code and the AASHTO-LRFD Bridge Specification have been largely influenced by his work. His work in shear has been recognized with the bestowment of ACI's Wason Medal in 1969 and its Structural Research Awards for 1981 and 1991, and ASCE's State-of-the-Art Award in 1974 and its Structural Research



Receiving the SEI Dennis L. Tewksbury Award in 2007. Left to Right – Barry Goodno, Neil Hawkins, Reidar Bjorhovde.

Award in 1976. His work in fatigue has been concerned primarily with the performance of steel reinforcements and has been recognized through the Noyes Prize of the Institution of Civil Engineers, Australia, in 1965 and ACI's Structural Research Award in 1978. He has authored over 40 publications in fracture mechanics applied to concrete structures, and is particularly recognized for his contributions in the area of dynamic fracture of concrete. He became involved in earthquake engineering research in the early 70s, and he has become a recognized expert in the earthquake performance of precast and prestressed concrete lateral force resisting systems and of two-way slab gravity and lateral force resisting systems. Hawkins' seismic performance work has been recognized through ASCE's Lin Award in 1988, and PCI's Zollman Awards in 1994 and 2005. His work related to precast/ prestressed concrete provides the basis for much of the existing seismic provisions for those materials, and resulted in his being named by PCI as one of the 50 Titans of that industry since its inception in 1954.

Hawkins has not been satisfied with simply performing research, and so has been active in developing mechanisms for the successful

> transfer of laboratory results into practice. He was the principal author of the 1991 CERF/ US Department of Commerce Report on Transferring Research into Practice: Lessons from the Japan Construction Industry and subsequently worked with Pankow Builders, ACI and PCI to implement those lessons in the USA. His unusual contributions in changing practice through research have been recognized by a special award of the International Federation of Concrete (FIB) in 2004, SEI of ASCE's Howard Award in 2004, and ACI's Kelly Award in 1996, its Boase Award in 2005 and its Turner Award in 2005.